Yoga and Chakras: Working Together for a Balanced Life

March 11, 2016

"The Chakra System is a map for the

 journey through life. Its seven rainbow

colors represent the full spectrum of human

 possibility that stretches from the ordinary

 to the extraordinary, from Earth to Heaven."

~ Anodea Judith



Learning about the chakras gives you access to your programmed responses so you can minimize their negative effects and maximize their positive ones.  The word chakra means wheel or disc. A chakra is a spinning vortex of activity located along the astral spine created by the presence of the consciousness within the physical body. There are seven major chakras whose locations correspond to seven central nerve ganglia branching out from the spinal column. The mind and the body are brought together by the life force running through you.

             In yoga, it is referred to as prana, which is equal to chi. Both mean “life force”. It is this vital energy that the chakras organize. When we work mind and body together (as in yoga), the basic tasks of life flow more smoothly and enjoyably.

            There are various ways to balance these spinning discs; I use yoga asanas, meditation, pure essential oils and crystals.  Others may use Reiki or other forms of healing energy.  Through a simple assessment called dowsing, the chakras reveal their balance or over and under stimulation.  With this awareness, yoga asanas and essential oils can be used to align the chakras and create balance to one or more energy centers.  For example, to open up the 4th chakra (anahata/heart) camel or ushtrasana asana is used.  Working with rose quartz also brings balance to the heart allowing it to give and receive unconditional love.  The anhata integrates the physical world of matter with the world of spirit (the upper three chakras). The quartz crystal may be placed on the heart during meditation or may be placed under a pillow during sleep. 

            Crystals and gemstones provide natural elements and healing energy to the body working with our chakras to unite us with the divinity within each of us....the essence of yoga.  Each major chakra is associated with a color.  Gemstones with similar colors to each chakra are used to create balance in an unbalanced world.  

            Lastly, imagery is also used with chakra balancing.  The most common association with the chakras is that of a lotus flower…a flower that grows out of the mud unfolding into divine purity and beauty suggesting expansion of the soul. The lotus flower symbolizes eternity, good fortune and various Hindu deities.  The lotus is a symbol of purity and enlightenment amid ignorance (the smutty swamps in which it grows).  Om mani padme hum (mantra emphasizing the jewel of the lotus).


Below are characteristics of each chakra:


Chakra One - Muladhara
Location: Root of spine
Purpose: Foundation, grounding, survival, stability
Color: Red
Lotus Flower: 4 petals
Chakra Two - Svadhisthana
Location: Sacral area
Purpose: Movement and flow
Color: Orange
Lotus Flower: 6 petals
Chakra Three - Manipura
Location: Solar plexus
Purpose: Energy, will
Color: Yellow
Lotus Flower: 10 petals
Chakra Four - Anahata
Location: Chest/heart
Purpose: Love, relationship, compassion
Color: Green
Lotus Flower: 12 petals
Chakra Five - Vishuddha
Location: Throat
Purpose: Communication, creativity
Color: Bright blue
Lotus Flower: 16 petals
Chakra Six = Ajna
Location: Brow/third eye
Purpose: Seeing, intuition, insight
Color: Indigo
Lotus Flower: 2 petals
Chakra Seven - Sahasrara
Location: Crown of head
Purpose: Pure awareness, understanding, unity with divine
Color: Violet or white
Lotus Flower: infinite petals

Please reload

Follow us

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

​© 2016 by Bhakti Wellness. Proudly created with